Favorite LPs

Moving away from politics, philosophy and economics, I’m going to lighten it up and write about my favorite record albums of all time.  I use “LP” and “record album” for a reason — I’ve failed to keep my promise made in college to change with the musical times.   I remain focused on my era for my favorite music.  Even those recent ones on my list tend to be from artists of the 70s who simply are still making music.   Sure, I’ll get a recommendation now and then — I’ve listened to and enjoyed Radiohead (though not enough to get it on my favorite list) and a few others, but my heart is in the past.    Recommendations on how to break out of that and what to listen to would be appreciated, and I will follow through.  These are listed in no particular order, though at the end I do say my favorite of all time.

Crime of the Century – Supertramp
Eve – Alan Parsons Project
Grand Illusion – Styx
Bat out of Hell – Meatloaf
Inside Job – Don Henley
Best of Joe South – Joe South*
Snakes and Arrows – Rush
A Farewell to Kings – Rush
Past, Present and Future – Al Stewart
Never Surrender – Triumph
Ipso Facto – Rik Emmett
Jagged Little Pill – Alanis Morrissette
Pieces of You – Jewel
Misplaced Childhood – Marillion
Images and Words – Dream Theater
Jesus Christ Superstar – Andrew Lloyd Weber & Tim Rice
Asia
– Asia
Wheels Are Turning – REO Speedwagon
Fugazi – Marillion
Second Wind – Todd Rundgren
Adventures in Utopia – Utopia
Between the Wars – Al Stewart
Teaser and the Firecat – Cat Stevens

My favorite: Eye of the Storm – Roger Hodgson
Must be listed: World in Motion – Jackson Browne (this blog name comes from the title cut).

I actually think that music helped shape my world view.  I’ve always been very focused on lyrics, and appreciate great lyricists like Al Stewart and Neil Peart (Rush).   I also have always been a fan of the work of Kevin Cronin (REO) and Dennis DeYoung (Styx).   Todd Rundgren is  a favorite, and even though only one Alan Parsons Project album is listed, I have spent a lot of time listening to them, and to Supertramp.   But my favorite of all time is Eye of the Storm by Roger Hodgson of Supertramp.  He played every instrument himself, and that CD inspired me at many levels, including to write my one unpublished fiction story “Dreams.”

Putting on headphones and losing myself in an album/CD has always been a way to keep perspective.  I can’t imagine my life without this music.

* – “Best of” albums usually don’t qualify, but it’s the only one I have and I really like it.  Walk a Mile in my Shoes is one of my all time favorites.   If I had to choose a favorite song writer, I’d end up with Joe South – he wasn’t prolific, but wrote some damn good stuff!

  1. #1 by Mike Lovell on March 24, 2009 - 14:24

    My parents, being hippies, became heavily interested in what we call Classic Rock of the 60s and 70s.
    So I grew up with it. Often times I would pass out, after a long stretch of pure kid energy, in front of the speakers to Pink Floyd, Jimi Hendrix, The Doors, Led Zepellin, you name it.
    As I grew up and tried to establish my own identity to avoid becoming my parents (which as I grow up, I think I failed at this practice, I went to the ultimate white kid in rural america’s rebellion by listening to gangsta rap and hip-hop. While I still appreciate some of that music, I still hold a lot of the classic rock in my heart and soul as my favorite music. And yes, I believe vinyl sounds better than the new digitized recordings.

    As for your list of favorites….some good, others…well, it’s like I don’t even know you anymore (oh wait, I never did know you..nevermind)

  2. #2 by Lee on March 24, 2009 - 16:52

    It was fun reading your list of faves. I was a Jackson Browne fan as well and my wife a big Styx fan. We both were Meatloaf fans as well. I have morphed over the years though. I was really a rock listener when I was a teen and into my early 20’s (also big on John Cougar back when he was John Couger and not Mellancamp!) But I love so many kinds of music it is really weird. One year the grounds crew where I worked played reggae music when they worked outside my office and I fell in love with it. I am still a serious lover of reggae. I love old motown and present day r and b. (think Norah Jones and Alicia Keys) Love listening to top 40 stuff. Pretty much the only thing that leaves me cold is scat jazz (too much of that nonsense syllable stuff drives me batty!) and country (some are okay but most leave me wishing i had a script for something to lift the spirits) And believe it or not, I also love classical music–go figure!

  3. #3 by Scott Erb on March 25, 2009 - 16:14

    I bought John Cougar’s “Nothing Matters and What if it Did” pre-Mellencamp LP, and really loved it. It could be on my list, in fact. I have all the Styx albums…and have been trying to learn more about classical music and appreciate it. I found learning the history really helps, it makes it more interesting for a non-musician like me.

  4. #4 by henitsirk on March 25, 2009 - 20:46

    I’m pretty much the same, listening to stuff from my generation or that of my parents. Even the things I listen to that are more recent aren’t really that new, like Cake.

    From my mom, I received a heavy dose of 50’s and early 60’s music. From both parents I received the entire musical catalog of the Beatles, Simon & Garfunkel, and Paul Simon. I also recall listening to the Rolling Stones on 8-track!

    I love that the other day my 4-year-old daughter was singing some of the old Paul Simon tune “Me and Julio”. I’m carrying on the family tradition of imprinting these songs on their impressionable brains!

    I guess my main music generational decade would be the 80’s. High school brought some of your list — Rush, Styx, Asia,and REO Speedwagon. College brought alternative rock like REM, the Cure, Morrissey, etc. Most muzak I hear these days is clearly marketed toward me! That’s when you know you’re getting old 🙂

Leave a Reply

